• Healthy Grief

    At Colma Cremation & Funeral Services, we understand that loss is a difficult experience that profoundly affects your life, and we work to help you through this time. Our priority is your well-being, and we are committed to a philosophy we describe as “healthy grief.”

Healthy Grief

What is meant by ”healthy grief?”

It means understanding what happens when someone experience a loss.
It means being kind and forgiving to yourself.
It also means that we make the funeral arrangement process less overwhelming.
It means being a safe haven as you cope with your grief.
It means knowing grief is normal and healthy.

For some tips about remaining healthy through your grief, request a free copy of our pamphlet Healing Thoughts.

Grief Support

Our Healthy Grief support can help you when making funeral and cremation choices, providing...

  • An understanding of how physiological grief works and how it is affecting you.
  • Validation of your thoughts and feelings.
  • Coping skills to become less overwhelmed.
  • Knowledge of healthy coping skills designed for you.
  • A recognition of your need to care for yourself as well as your loved ones.
  • Time to better understand choices and cost of services, and make choices that are meaningful for you and your family.

Reading Suggestion - ABCs of Healthy Grieving

by Ivan Smith

Nationally recognized grief educator Harold Ivan Smith brings over twenty-five years of professional experience in grief recovery to ABCs of Healthy Grieving.

Seventy-two brief suggestions for healthy grieving, each two-pages in length and titled starting with a letter of the alphabet followed by an "I Can" statement, encourage those suffering the loss of a loved one to grow through grief spiritually and emotionally.

Click here to purchase on Amazon

Reading Suggestion - Healthy Grieving: An Opportunity for Growth

by Patricia Kirtley et al.

Grief comes to us all, simply because we are human and have the ability to care. Regardless, of age, ethnicity, or cultural background, we must find our way when we suffer a loss.

This book presents five essays that highlight different aspects of the grieving process: the philosophical basis of coping with the death of a loved one, the five phases of grief as outlined by Kubler-Ross, a cathartic annual Hawaiian ceremony, the beliefs and practices of indigenous peoples, and a survey of several ethnic, religious, and national customs.

Click here to purchase on Amazon